AA.MEDIA

Architectural Association
Communication and Media Studies


AA Communication & Media is an experimental testing ground for exploring and interrogating the tools of the discipline – tools with which we speculate, manipulate and play; compute, control and test; communicate, seduce, and provoke.

Acting as both training camp and laboratory, it is a diverse, multidisciplinary program where unexpected collisions and obsessive attention to detail expose a rich seam of creative potential. Communication Media Studies presents an opportunity to develop individual practice, where students hone their dexterity with established and progressive media, actively testing modes of production through focused acts of doing and making.



CONTACT:

Kate Davies
Head of Media Studies

Oliviu Lugojan-Ghenciu
Lab Coordinator

AA MEDIA
Architectural Association
School of Architecture

36 Bedford Square
London WC1B 3ES

+44 (0)20 7887 4000

CALENDAR

SECOND YEAR
CMS-CORE


All CMS Second Year courses take place on Wednesdays throughout the Autumn and Winter Terms. Attendance of each course is compulsory. Failure to attend regularly may result in a reduction in grade and possible failure in the course. Unit tutors have been informed not to hold any events on Wednesdays scheduled for CMS courses, however, students are ultimately responsible for ensuring they do not miss any courses.

Online registration is possible by clicking in the REGISTER/SIGN-UP section of this website. Students will only be able to receive credit for their CMS2 course by successfully submitting their online submission on the specified dates for each term.


Autumn Term [1]
Fri 27 Sep / Course Introductions (4.00pm, Lecture Hall) Registration will take place online from 6.00pm Fri 27 Sep until 12noon Sat 28 Sep.
Monday 30 Sep / Course Enrolment for Autumn Term to be posted online
For individual course details see course pages here

Course Dates:
Wed 2 Oct: Session 1
Wed 9 Oct: Session 2
Wed 16 Oct: Session 3
Wed 23 Oct: Session 4

* AA Open Week [Complementary Courses Suspended]

Wed 6 Nov: Session 5
Wed 13 Nov: Session 6
Wed 20 Nov: Session 7
Wed 27 Nov: Session 8 – AA CMS JURY DAY

Friday 6 Dec, 1pm: Digital Submissions Deadline
Thursday 12 Dec: Completed online assessments released to students
Tuesday 10 - Thursday 12 Dec: Registration for Courses Online.
Course Enrolment to be posted during the Winter Break


Winter Term [2]

For individual course details see course pages here

Course Dates:
Wed 8 Jan: Session 1
Wed 15 Jan: Session 2
Wed 22 Jan: Session 3
Wed 29 Jan: Session 4

* AA Open Week [Complementary Courses Suspended]

Wed 12 Feb: Session 5
Wed 19 Feb: Session 6
Wed 26 Feb: Session 7
Wed 4 Mar: Session 8 - MS JURY DAY

Thursday 19 Mar, 1pm: Digital Submissions Deadline
Tuesday 24 Mar: Completed online assessments released to students